

Insights

EUROPE TRAVEL BAN AFFECTS MOVEMENT OF PEOPLE, NOT GOODS

Mar 13, 2020

On Wednesday, March 11, 2020, following the World Health Organization's announcement officially designating COVID-19 a pandemic, President Trump issued Proclamation 9993 suspending entry into the United States of certain non-US individuals from most of Europe. Although there was some confusion following President Trump's address from the Oval Office on March 11, 2020, in which the President alluded to prohibitions applying to "trade and cargo," the White House has subsequently clarified in a Fact Sheet that the restrictions apply only "to the movement of human beings, not goods or cargo." Current US trade policy is unaffected by the Proclamation.

The Proclamation's travel restriction generally prohibits the entry into the United States of non-US individuals who have been in one or more of the 26 countries within the Schengen Area of Europe¹ during the 14-day period prior to entry or attempted entry. The Proclamation does not apply to US citizens, legal permanent residents (i.e., green card holders), or their immediate family members (regardless of the immigration status of such persons, subject to certain limitations). Certain other exceptions also apply. The travel restriction goes into effect March 13, 2020, at 11:59pm EDT and will stay in place indefinitely, until terminated by the President.

The Proclamation has no intended effect on the trade of goods between the United States and Europe at this time and specifically states that the "free flow of commerce between the United States and the Schengen Area countries remains an economic priority" of the Administration. The Proclamation further indicates that the Administration remains committed to facilitating trade between the United States and these nations.

As with all matters related to COVID-19, however, we expect national and international policies to remain in flux. We will continue monitoring these developments and encourage you to contact the attorneys linked above with any questions.

1. The Schengen Area includes: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

RELATED PRACTICE AREAS

- International Trade
- Corporate

MEET THE TEAM



Megan A. Gajewski Barnhill

Washington megan.barnhill@bclplaw.com +1 202 508 6302

This material is not comprehensive, is for informational purposes only, and is not legal advice. Your use or receipt of this material does not create an attorney-client relationship between us. If you require legal advice, you should consult an attorney regarding your particular circumstances. The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements. This material may be "Attorney Advertising" under the ethics and professional rules of certain jurisdictions. For advertising purposes, St. Louis, Missouri, is designated BCLP's principal office and Kathrine Dixon (kathrine.dixon@bclplaw.com) as the responsible attorney.